Speech Therapy in Eagle River and Anchorage, AK

Clinical Faculty and Administrative Staff

Meet the team that is responsible for making Reading Write Alaska the premier facility dedicated to helping your child to reach their reading potential

CLINICAL STAFF

Heather Walton

Owner / Founder

heather@readingwritealaska.com

Heather is the owner and founder of Reading Write Alaska.  She spends time in all of the RWA locations but primarily serves as a Clinical Supervisor in the Anchorage office. Heather is from Fort Walton Beach, Florida. 

Ashly Beckes

Director of Operations

ashly@readingwritealaska.com

Ashly is the Director of Operations for Reading Write Alaska, and has been with us since 2012! Ashly was born and raised in Minnesota and graduated with a degree in Secondary Education specializing in Social Studies…

Maggie Voinot-Baron

Speech-Language Pathologist / Clinical Supervisor

maggie@readingwritealaska.com

Maggie is a Speech-Language Pathologist and Clinical Supervisor in our Anchorage location.  Maggie graduated from Portland State University with a Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology in 2011. 

Robin Ruzic

Speech-Language Pathologist / Clinical Director – Eagle River

robin@readingwritealaska.com

Robin was born and raised in New Iberia Louisiana, the heart of Cajun country. She finished high school in Crystal Lake Illinois and shortly after moved back south. She is a Speech-Language Pathologist…

Kristin Wetzel

Speech-Language Pathologist / Clinical Director – Wasilla

kristin@readingwritealaska.com

Kristin is a Speech-Language Pathologist and Clinic Director in our Wasilla location.  Kristin grew up in a small town in Northern Nevada and attended the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR).

Kayla Head

Speech-Language Pathologist / Clinical Director – Wasilla

kayla@readingwritealaska.com

Kayla is a Speech-Language Pathologist and Clinic Director in our Wasilla location.  Kayla was born in the Midwest and grew up in Southwest Washington. She completed her undergraduate degree at the University of Washington…

Michelle Kobsik

Teacher and Behavioral Specialist

michelle@readingwritealaska.com

Michelle relocated to Alaska from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and holds a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from Indiana University of Pennsylvania and a Master’s degree in Special Education from Edinboro University of Pennsylvania.

Becky George

Dyslexia Therapist

becky@readingwritealaska.com

Becky relocated to Anchorage in 2018 after spending 8 years in Fairbanks.  Prior to Fairbanks, Colorado was her home.  She has over 13 years in private practice as a Dyslexia Therapist.

Wendy Baker

Teacher / Language Specialist

wendy@readingwritealaska.com

Wendy has lived in Anchorage since 1986; however, she grew up in Fairbanks. She is a certified teacher who taught for 20 years at Bartlett High School where she taught Russian, world history, and Latin.

Tyler

Math Instructor

tyler@readingwritealaska.com

Tyler is a Math Tutor for Reading Write Alaska and began working part time in 2018.  Tyler grew up in Minnesota and spent 10 years in the United States Air Force, first as a Chinese-Mandarin language analyst, and then as a command post controller.

Lindsey Cady

Speech-Language Pathologist

lindsey@readingwritealaska.com

indsey Cady is a Speech-Language Pathologist who received her Master of Science in Speech Language Pathology from Northeastern State University in Talequah, OK, after completing her undergraduate career with a Bachelor of Arts in Secondary Education…

Nichole Chilson

Speech-Language Pathologist

nichole@readingwritealaska.com

Nichole Lachance Chilson has been practicing Speech-Language Pathology for over 18 years here in the land of the midnight sun. She worked in private practice for ten of those years…

April Kuiper

Bilingual Speech-Language Pathologist

april@readingwritealaska.com

April is a bilingual, certified speech-language pathologist who earned her Bachelor’s degree in Spanish language & literature in Michigan, where she was born and raised.

Ross Clifford

Writing Specialist / Teacher

ross@readingwritealaska.com

Ross discovered his love of teaching while in the Master of Fine Arts program at Portland State University. As a graduate student, he had the opportunity to teach composition to incoming students…

Megan Neill

Speech-Language Pathologist

megan@readingwritealaska.com

Despite her childhood dream of becoming a librarian, Megan eventually discovered the world of speech and language in college and ultimately graduated with a Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology in 2018…

Amanda Hall

Speech-Language Pathologist

amanda@readingwritealaska.com

Amanda returned to Alaska after pursuing her undergraduate degree in Child Development, followed by 3 years of working as a preschool teacher with Childtime Learning Center in Phoenix, AZ.

Kelsey Coffern

Speech-Language Pathologist

kelsey@readingwritealaska.com

Kelsey graduated from Texas Tech University with a Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology 2018. Trying to escape the Texas heat, she booked a one-way flight to Anchorage, Alaska!

Laura Tillman

Speech-Language Pathologist

laura@readingwritealaska.com

Laura is a Speech-Language Pathologist who received her Master’s Degree in Speech-Language Pathology from Rush University in Chicago, Illinois. She completed her undergraduate career at Northwestern University…

Eli Skelton

Speech-Language Pathologist

eli@readingwritealaska.com

Eli earned his bachelor’s degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, Arkansas. He then earned his master’s degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders at the University of Arkansas…

>Julie Swaner

Speech-Language Pathologist

julie.swaner@readingwritealaska.com

Julie graduated from Baylor University in Waco, Texas, with her Bachelors and Masters degrees in Communication Sciences and Disorders with a focus in Speech-Language Pathology

Uriah Mitchell

Speech-Language Pathologist

uriah@readingwritealaska.com

Uriah joined the Reading Write Alaska team in 2018, assisting in diagnosing and treating individuals with communication difficulties.  Uriah has had experience working in schools, skilled nursing facilities…

Lynice Firey

Speech-Language Pathologist

lynice@readingwritealaska.com

Lynice grew up in Canada and earned a Masters Degree in Communication Disorders from Minot State University. She moved to Alaska with her husband, who is originally from the state.

Mary Mitchell

Speech-Language Pathologist

mary@readingwritealaska.com

Mary is a Speech-Language Pathologist.  Mary graduated from James Madison University with her Bachelor of Science in Communication Sciences and Disorder in 2012 and taught a Kindergarten program…

Alysia Damin

Speech-Language Pathologist

alysia@readingwritealaska.com

Alysia is a Speech-Language Pathologist and lead teletherapist.  Alysia grew up in a small town located in central New York.  As a child, she was surrounded with educators and professionals in the field of speech pathology…

Jennifer Carlson

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

jennifer@readingwritealaska.com

Jennifer is a licensed Speech-Language Pathology Assistant with a Bachelor’s degree in Speech-Language Pathology and a minor in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) from Eastern Michigan University.

Kari Meyer

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

kari@readingwritealaska.com

Kari grew up in a small town in Southern Illinois. After growing up in the Midwest she longed for different scenery. She packed two suitcases and boarded a one-way flight to Alaska to experience the great “Last Frontier”.

Selina Gutierrez

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

selina@readingwritealaska.com

Selina is a licensed Speech-Language Pathology Assistant with a Bachelor’s degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders from the University of Texas at Austin. Throughout her career, she has provided individualized and group therapy to children…

Grant Tatge

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

grant@readingwritealaska.com

Grant earned his bachelor’s degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders at the University of North Dakota. For five years, he worked for Denali Borough School District serving pre-K through 12th-grade students…

Julie Johnson

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

julie@readingwritealaska.com

Julie is a retired school teacher with the Anchorage School District. She has an undergraduate degree is in elementary education and a masters degree in special education. She taught in Anchorage for a total of 22 years…

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Cheryl Carter

Human Resources

cheryl@readingwritealaska.com

Cheryl was raised in West Virginia.  Her husband made a career in the Air Force, which ultimately led them to Fort Walton Beach Florida where they made their home for 35 years.

Marissa Pedersen

Front Desk Administration

marissa@readingwritealaska.com

Marissa grew up in Lisle, Illinois, a busy suburb of Chicago. After graduating high school, she moved to Grand Junction, CO where she attended Colorado Mesa University.

Kristie Koffard

Front Desk Administration

kristie@readingwritealaska.com

Kristie is the front desk administrator for the Reading Write Alaska team in Wasilla. She was born in Palmer, Alaska and has lived in Wasilla ever since. Although an Alaskan at heart Kristie is an avid traveler.

Kelly Farmer

Billing Manager

kelly@readingwritealaska.com

Kelly is the billing manager for Reading Write Alaska. Kelly grew up as a military “brat” whose family settled in Alaska in 1983. In 1998 Kelly moved to Surprise, AZ., where she started her career as a Medicare biller…

Kimberly Westervelt

Billing Specialist

kim@readingwritealaska.com

Kimberly was born in Ohio, grew up in Anchorage, and calls Alaska her home.  She graduated high school early and attended UAA.  Kimberly married her high school sweetheart and has two children, Colin and Brinley.

Reading Write Alaska is also an approved vendor for all local homeschool programs

TESTIMONIALS

"The scores on our daughter’s most recent re-evaluation are jawdropping. She has gone from reading 13 words on a word identification subtest to 113 words in a year!! Her score went from 67 to 107! Her spelling score went from a 77 to a 99! She was at an early first grade reading level last year and is now testing at mid third grade! We are so thankful for sweet Miss Lori and all she’s done for us!"

~ CARY